Spirit Awards 2018 Top Nominated Films
The 35th Independent Spirit Awards nominations for all categories have been announced and route for your favorite contender here...
The Spirit Awards 2019 has announced their nominations list for various award categories and the award ceremony will take place on February 23, 2019. Spirit Awards is recognition for the Independent filmmakers and their films, which is happening for the past 34 years. The upcoming 35th award ceremony’s nominees list looks pretty cool with promising films.
We the Animals topped with five nominations in respective categories for cinematography, editing, first feature film, supporting male actor, and the Someone to Watch Award. Followed by the films First Reformed and Eighth Grade which gained four nominations in the ceremony.
The most looked forward Best Feature category is having a tough fight this time with the films including If Beale Street Could Talk and Leave No Trace. Roma and Burning are the top contenders for the Best International film award among the five films which is expected to have the title. 

Spirit Awards 2019 Nominations:

Best Feature
Eighth Grade
First Reformed
If Beale Street Could Talk
Leave No Trace
You Were Never Really Here
Best Director
Debra Granik (Leave No Trace)
Barry Jenkins (If Beale Street Could Talk)
Tamara Jenkins (Private Life)
Lynne Ramsay (You Were Never Really Here)
Paul Schrader (First Reformed)
Best First Feature
Sorry To Bother You
The Tale
We The Animals
Best Female Lead
Glenn Close (The Wife)
Toni Collette (Hereditary)
Elsie Fisher (Eighth Grade)
Regina Hall (Support The Girls)
Helena Howard (Madeline’s Madeline)
Carey Mulligan (Wildlife)
Best Male Lead
John Cho( Searching)
Daveed Diggs (Blindspotting)
Ethan Hawke (First Reformed)
Christian Malheiros (Socrates)
Joaquin Phoenix (You Were Never Really Here)
Best Supporting Female
Kayli Carter (Private Life)
Tyne Daly (A Bread Factory)
Regina King (If Beale Street Could Talk)
Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie (Leave No Trace)
J. Smith-Cameron (Nancy)
Best Supporting Male
Raul Castillo (We The Animals)
Adam Driver (BlacKkKlansman)
Richard E. Grant (Can You Ever Forgive Me?)
Josh Hamilton (Eighth Grade)
John David Washington (Monsters And Men)
Best Screenplay
Richard Glatzer, Rebecca Lenkiewicz & Wash Westmoreland (Colette)
Nicole Holofcener & Jeff Whitty (Can You Ever Forgive Me?)
Tamara Jenkins (Private Life)
Boots Riley (Sorry To Bother You)
Paul Schrader (First Reformed)
Best First Screenplay
Bo Burnham (Eighth Grade)
Christina Choe (Nancy)
Cory Finley (Thoroughbreds)
Jennifer Fox (The Tale)
Quinn Shephard and Laurie Shephard (Blame)
Best Cinematography
Ashley Connor (Madeline’s Madeline)
Diego Garcia (Wildlife)
Benjamin Loeb (Mandy)
Sayombhu Mukdeeprom (Suspiria)
Zak Mulligan (We The Animals)
Best Editing
Joe Bini (You Were Never Really Here)
Keiko Deguchi, Brian A. Kates & Jeremiah Zagar (We The Animals)
Luke Dunkley, Nick Fenton, Chris Gill & Julian Hart (American Animals)
Anne Fabini, Alex Hall and Gary Levy (The Tale)
Nick Houy (Mid90s)
John Cassavetes Award
A Bread Factory
En El Septimo Dia
Never Goin’ Back
Thunder Road
Best Documentary
Hale County This Morning, This Evening Minding The Gap
Of Fathers And Sons
On Her Shoulders
Won’t You Be My Neighbor?
Best International Film
Burning (South Korea)
The Favourite (United Kingdom)
Happy As Lazzaro (Italy)
ROMA (Mexico)
Shoplifters (Japan)
Piaget Producers Award 
Jonathan Duffy and Kelly Williams
Gabrielle Nadig
Shrihari Sathe
Annual Kiehl’s Someone to Watch Award
Alex Moratto (Socrates)
Ioana Uricaru (Lemonade)
Jeremiah Zagar (We The Animals)
Truer Than Fiction Award
Alexandria Bombach (On Her Shoulders)
Bing Liu (Minding The Gap)
RaMell Ross (Hale County This Morning, This Evening)
Annual Bonnie Award 
Debra Granik
Tamara Jenkins
Karyn Kusama
Robert Altman Award (one film’s cast and director)